Wake Forest Baptist February Awards and Recognitions

February 21, 2020

Chair of Surgery Chosen as President-Elect of American College of Surgeons

J. Wayne Meredith, M.D., chair of surgery at Wake Forest Baptist Health, has been chosen to serve as president-elect of the American College of Surgeons.

Meredith is an esteemed trauma, thoracic and critical care surgeon and his leadership and contributions to the field of surgery are known throughout the state, across the nation and around the world.
The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational organization of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical practice and improve the quality of care for surgical patients.

Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery Receives Award for Leadership and Service

L. Andrew Koman, M.D., professor and chair of orthopaedic surgery at Wake Forest Baptist Health, received the Dr. and Mrs. Elmer Nix Award in Ethics from the Clinical Orthopaedic Society at the society’s annual meeting.

This award is given annually to recognize career achievements in orthopaedic leadership and service.
Koman is also the clinical director of Wake Forest Baptist’s musculoskeletal service line which includes orthopaedic surgery, podiatry and rheumatology. He manages more than 100 clinical and research faculty, residents and fellows, and oversees orthopaedic practices at five hospitals and 25 locations throughout the region.

Wake Forest Baptist Maternal-Fetal Medicine Expert Honored as Master Surgeon Educator

Brian C. Brost, M.D., professor of maternal-fetal medicine at Wake Forest Baptist Health, has been admitted as a member of the American College of Surgeons Academy of Master Surgeon Educators.

Brost is the only maternal-fetal medicine subspecialist to ever receive this honor which recognizes those who have devoted their careers to all levels of surgical education.
The academy’s goals include mentoring surgeon educators, promoting advances in surgical education and positively impacting the quality of surgical care and patient safety.

Wake Forest Baptist Stroke Researcher Honored for Lifetime Achievement by the American Heart Association

Pamela W. Duncan, Ph.D., professor of neurology at Wake Forest Baptist Health, received the David G. Sherman Award for Lifetime Achievement from the American Heart Association.
This award honors her outstanding contributions to stroke care and stroke-related health policy and her commitment to serve the community and mentor the next generation of stroke researchers and clinicians.

Duncan is the first woman to receive this award, which has been given since 2010.

Wake Forest Baptist Dermatologist Selected as President of State Association

William W. Huang, M.D., associate professor of dermatology at Wake Forest Baptist Health, has been selected as president of the North Carolina Dermatology Association (NCDA).
In addition to caring for patients, Huang conducts clinical research and helps educate the next generation of physicians as the residency program director for Wake Forest Baptist’s Department of Dermatology.

The NCDA promotes excellence in patient care and supports dermatology providers in the state of North Carolina through education, communication and advocacy.

Media Contact:

Joe McCloskey, jmcclosk@wakehealth.edu336-716-1273