Wake Forest Baptist June Awards and Recognitions

June 4, 2019

Wake Forest Baptist Physician Awarded for Orthopaedic Research 

L. Andrew Koman, M.D., chair and professor of orthopaedic surgery at Wake Forest Baptist Health, has been awarded the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Clinical Research Award by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS).

The award recognizes Koman’s clinical research related to musculoskeletal disease or injury. Koman, along with Beth Paterson Smith, Ph.D., and Thomas L. Smith, Ph.D., both of Wake Forest Baptist, studied the impact of botulinum toxins on the musculoskeletal system over the course of 30 years, documenting its positive value in patients with cerebral palsy as well as other indications.

The AAOS provides education and practice management services for orthopaedic surgeons and allied health professionals. It also serves as an advocate for improved patient care and informs the public about the science of orthopaedics.

Wake Forest Baptist Surgeon Named President-Elect of National Organization

John Wilson, M.D., professor of neurosurgery at Wake Forest Baptist Health, will serve as the 2019-2020 president-elect of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS).

Wilson was nominated by his AANS peers and has served as treasurer of the organization for the past three years.

The AANS promotes the quality of patient care and advances the specialty of neurological surgery.

Wake Forest Baptist Physician Awarded for Neurology Education

Roy Strowd, M.D., assistant professor of neurology and hematology and oncology at Wake Forest Baptist Health, has been awarded the A. B. Baker Teacher Recognition Award 2019 from the American Academy of Neurology (AAN).

The award recognizes Strowd’s contributions to improving neurology education.

The AAN is the world's largest association of neurologists and neuroscience professionals.

Wake Forest Baptist EMS Specialists Honored for Patient Care

Amy Craver, B.S.R.S, heart and vascular outreach coordinator, and Billy Haynes, M.S.N., program manager of Wake Forest Baptist Health’s AirCare Critical Care Transport have been awarded the John Burwell Excellence in EMS Award by the N.C. Office of EMS.

This award recognizes EMS professionals who made an impact on patient care within Davie, Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin counties.

The award is in memory of Burwell, who dedicated his life to improving pre-hospital care, the quality of life for citizens, and the overall regional EMS system.

Wake Forest School of Medicine Students Receive National Award

Abby Peoples and Jeffrey Powell, medical students at Wake Forest School of Medicine, part of Wake Forest Baptist Health, have been named 2019-20 Schweitzer Fellows by the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship.

Over the next year, these two students will join other Schweitzer Fellows from across the country in developing and implementing service projects that address causes of health disparities in under-resourced communities.

Locally, Peoples will provide physical and emotional support during childbirth for Medicaid insured patients through a volunteer doula program. Powell is working toward improving occupational therapy patient outcomes at a charitable clinic through access to 3-D printed tools and developing occupational therapy guidelines for children who use 3-D printed prosthetic devices.

The Boston-based Albert Schweitzer Fellowship is dedicated to developing individuals who are committed to and skilled in meeting the health needs of underserved communities.

Note: High-quality photos are available upon request.

Media contact: Eryn Johnson, eryjohns@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-8228