Three New Orthopaedic Surgeons Join Wake Forest Baptist

September 22, 2008

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Eben A. Carroll, M.D., Aaron T. Scott, M.D., and Christopher J. Tuohy, M.D., have joined the Division of Surgical Sciences at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center as assistant professors of orthopaedic surgery.

Carroll, a native of Rochester, N.Y., specializes in orthopaedics (general), trauma and pelvic and acetabular fractures. He received his medical degree from Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, N.Y., and completed his orthopaedic surgery residency at Wake Forest Baptist where he was chief resident. Most recently he was an orthopaedic trauma fellow at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York.

Scott, a native of Portsmouth, Va., specializes in foot and ankle reconstruction, foot and ankle trauma, and ankle replacement surgery. He received his medical degree from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine in Jackson, Miss. He completed his orthopaedic surgery residency at the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond, Va., and completed a foot and ankle fellowship at Duke University Medical Center.

Tuohy specializes in the following: hand surgery; shoulder, elbow and wrist arthroscopy; shoulder and elbow replacement; rotator cuff and instability repair. He received his medical degree from Wake Forest University School of Medicine. He completed a residency in orthopaedic surgery at the Albert Einstein Healthcare Network in Philadelphia, Pa., as well as a hand surgery fellowship at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn., and a shoulder and elbow fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, Pa.

The other trauma surgeons in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery are: John P. Birkedal, M.D., David F. Martin, M.D., Gary G. Poehling, M.D., Robert D. Teasdall, M.D., William G. Ward, M.D., Lawrence X. Webb, M.D., and Ethan R. Wiesler, M.D. The other hand surgeons are L. Andrew Koman, M.D., (chair), and Zhongyu “John” Li, M.D., Ph.D.

Media Relations

Main Number:, 336-713-4587