Wake Forest Baptist July Awards and Recognitions

July 28, 2017

Wake Forest Baptist Cardiology Unit Receives National Award

The cardiology step-down unit (CSDU) at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center received the Silver Beacon Award from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). The CSDU at Wake Forest Baptist was the only step-down unit in the state to receive this award.

The award is granted to units that set the standard for excellence in patient care by using evidence-based information, positive patient outcomes, credibility and patient and employee satisfaction. This award also signifies a supportive work environment with collaboration between nurses, leaders and physicians. 

AACN is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world.

Wake Forest Baptist’s Student-Run Clinic Receives Accreditation

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – July 28, 2017 – The Delivering Equal Access to Care (DEAC) Clinic at Wake Forest School of Medicine received accreditation from the North Carolina Association of Free and Charitable Clinics (NCAFCC).

The DEAC Clinic is a student-run and physician-staffed free clinic for those who cannot afford health insurance and do not qualify for government assistance. The DEAC Clinic is the first student-run clinic to receive accreditation from the NCAFCC.

The NCAFCC is a network of health care facilities that offer free and affordable healthcare throughout the state.

Wake Forest Baptist Physician Named to National Board

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – July 28, 2017 – Fred Bromberg, M.D., associate chief medical officer, compliance, care and resource management and assistant professor of internal medicine at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, was elected to serve as a member of the board of directors of the American Board of Medical Quality (ABMQ).

The ABMQ establishes examination, certification and evaluation procedures for professionals and programs that present evidence of expertise, experience and training in the field of medical quality management.

Wake Forest Baptist Physician Appointed to American Board of Ophthalmology

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – July 28, 2017 – Molly L. Fuller, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of ophthalmology at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, was inducted as a member of American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (ASOPRS).

Membership in the ASOPRS is restricted to ophthalmologists who have been board certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology and who have also passed rigorous tests in this specialized field.

ASOPRS advances education, research and the quality of clinical practice in the fields of aesthetic, plastic and reconstructive surgery specializing in the face, orbits, eyelids, and lacrimal system.

Wake Forest School of Medicine Student Honored with Scholarship

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – July 28, 2017 – Erin Saner, a fourth-year student at Wake Forest School of Medicine, was awarded the 2017 Anarcha, Betsy, and Lucy Memorial Scholarship Award by the National Medical Fellowships (NMF).

The award is given in memory of Anarcha, Betsy and Lucy, three slaves who, as subjects of experimentation, helped shape advances in current clinical and surgical knowledge. The scholarship is given annually to one African-American female medical student who is a known descendant of American slaves. Saner was selected for this award because of her leadership efforts in planning and organizing the 2016 inaugural Boomer (NC) Share the Health Fair.

NMF is a nonprofit organization dedicated to increasing the number of underrepresented minority physicians and other professionals in the health care workforce. 

Media Relations

Eryn Johnson: eryjohns@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-8228

Joe McCloskey: jmcclosk@wakehealth.edu, 336-716-1273