Wake Forest Baptist June Awards and Recognitions

June 30, 2017

Wake Forest Baptist Professor Earns Research Scholar Award

Hooman Sadri Ardekani, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of urology at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, has earned a Research Scholar award through the American Urological Association (AUA) Leadership Program.

Sadri was selected from among 70 nominees for the award by the Urology Care Foundation and the AUA Office of Research for his work in translational research to preserve fertility in patients with Klinefelter Syndrome, a genetic condition that occurs in men.

The AUA promotes the highest standards of urological clinical care through education, research and the formulation of health care policy. The Research Scholar Program provides salary support for one- and two-year mentored training for early career investigators.

Wake Forest Baptist Physician Assistant Recognized for Achievement

Alisha DeTroye, M.M.S.,PA-C, director of PA services and transitional and supportive care services at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center,has been recognized as a Distinguished Fellow by the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA).

The national honor recognizes DeTroye’s professional achievement, contributions to patient care and her involvement in the community. Distinguished Fellows of AAPA represent only 2 percent of the entire AAPA membership. 

AAPA is a national organization that represents approximately 108,500 PAs and advocates and provides tools to improve PA practice and patient care.

Wake Forest Baptist Nurse Anesthetist Receives National Award

Grace Simpson, C.R.N.A., of Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center was named the Clinical Instructor of the Year by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA).

The award recognizes Simpson’s contribution to the teaching of nurse anesthesia students in the clinical area.

The AANA is the professional association representing more than 50,000 certified registered nurse anesthetists and student registered nurse anesthetists nationwide.

Wake Forest Baptist Physician Assistant Awarded for EMS Service

Jeff Hinshaw, M.S., PA-C, NREMT-P, chief physician assistant in emergency medicine at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, was awarded the John Burwell Excellence in EMS Award by the Region I Advisory Council.

The award recognizes Hinshaw’s impact on EMS within Region I —Forsyth, Davie, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin counties. Hinshaw was nominated and selected by his peers and colleagues who are members of the advisory council.

The award is in memory of John Burwell of Stokes County, who worked toward improving hospital care, the quality of life and the overall regional EMS system.

Wake Forest School of Medicine Student Honored for Leadership

Vaidehi Mujumdar, a third-year student at Wake Forest School of Medicine, received a 2017 Excellence in Medicine Leadership Award from the American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation.

The award honors Mujumdar’s leadership in community service, education, public health and organized medicine. As part of her award, she received leadership development training to further strengthen her efforts of advancing health care.

The AMA is a national organization providing resources to empower physicians, residents and medical students to succeed in their medical career.

Media Relations

Eryn Johnson: eryjohns@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-8228

Joe McCloskey: jmcclosk@wakehealth.edu, 336-716-1273