Wake Forest Baptist December Awards and Recognitions

December 30, 2016

Wake Forest Baptist Anesthesiologist Receives Alumni Award  

James Eisenach, M.D., professor of anesthesiology at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, has received the 2016 Mayo Clinic Distinguished Alumni Award (MCDAA).

The award acknowledges Eisenach's contributions to the understanding and treatment of pain, his leadership to the academic discipline of anesthesiology, and his training and mentoring of the next generation of physicians and scientists. Eisenach completed a residency in anesthesia at Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education in 1985 and is currently the vice chair for research in the Department of Anesthesiology at Wake Forest Baptist.

The MCDAA was established to acknowledge the contributions of Mayo Clinic alumni to the field of medicine.

Wake Forest Baptist Professor Honored for Leadership

Glenn J. Lesser, M.D., professor of hematology and oncology at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, has been awarded the 2016 James Edwin Byrum Jr., M.D., Distinguished Faculty Mentor Award from Wake Forest School of Medicine.

The award recognizes Lesser’s professional-development impact on aspiring physicians, clinical researchers and trainees at the School of Medicine and beyond.

The Byrum Award memorializes James Edwin “Ed” Byrum Jr., M.D., who assisted in training over 200 emergency medicine physicians during his 37-year career at Wake Forest Baptist.

Wake Forest Baptist Professor Cited for Research Abstract

Scott D. Rhodes, Ph.D., professor of social sciences and health policy at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, and his research team were recently presented the HIV/AIDS Section 2016 Excellence in Abstract Submission among All Presenters Award.

Rhodes was honored for his abstract on the development, implementation and evaluation of reducing HIV-related health disparities among Latino/Hispanic gay men and Latina transgender women. The research was funded by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

This award is given on behalf of the HIV/AIDS Section of the American Public Health Association.

Media Relations

Eryn Johnson: eryjohns@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-8228

Joe McCloskey: jmcclosk@wakehealth.edu, 336-716-1273