Wake Forest Baptist February Awards and Recognitions

February 26, 2016

Wake Forest Baptist and Affiliates Awarded for Safety

Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Wake Forest Baptist Health-Davie Medical Center, Wake Forest Baptist Health-Lexington Medical Center and Wake Forest Baptist Health-Community Physicians received the Gold Award from the North Carolina (N.C.) Department of Labor Safety Awards Program.

To qualify for an annual safety award, a firm must have no fatalities during the calendar year at the site or location for which the award was given. The organization must also have maintained an incidence rate at least 50 percent below the average for its particular industry group. The Gold Award is based on the Days Away, Restricted, and Transfer case rate, which includes cases of days away from work, restricted activity or job transfer.

The N.C. Department of Labor’s Safety Awards Program recognizes private and public firms throughout the state that achieve and maintain good safety records.

Wake Forest Baptist Stroke Program Recertified by Joint Commission

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Feb. 26, 2016 – The Advanced Comprehensive Stroke Program at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center has been recertified by The Joint Commission.

This recertification recognizes hospitals that have state-of-the-art infrastructure, stroke neurologists and neurosurgeons, staff and training to receive and treat patients with the most complex strokes. 

Eight Wake Forest Baptist Physicians Receive Emergency Medical Services Certification

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Feb. 26, 2016 – Eight physicians in the department of emergency medicine at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center recently became board certified for Emergency Medical Services (EMS) administered by the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

The department of emergency medicine at Wake Forest Baptist has the most EMS board certified physicians within an academic medical center in North Carolina.

Those physicians include:  Roy Alson, M.D., Seth Hawkins, M.D., Henderson McGinnis, M.D., Howard Mell, M.D., Darrell Nelson, M.D., Mark Quale, M.D., Jason Stopyra, M.D., James “Tripp” Winslow, M.D.

Wake Forest Baptist Urologist Wins Annual Honor

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Feb. 26, 2016 – Robert Evans, M.D., associate professor of urology at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, has been named the Doctor of the Year for Interstitial Cystitis (IC) by the IC Network.

Over 100 physicians were nominated by patients for the honor.

The IC Network is a health education company dedicated to interstitial cystitis, overactive bladder and other pelvic pain disorders.

Media Relations

Eryn Johnson: eryjohns@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-8228

Mac Ingraham: mingraha@wakehealth.edu, 336-716-3487