Wake Forest Baptist June Awards and Recognitions

June 27, 2013

Wake Forest Baptist Surgeon Gives Memorial Lecture at National Conference

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – June 27, 2013 – Wayne Meredith, M.D., Richard T. Myers Professor, chair of general surgery and director of division of surgical sciences at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, gave the Charles C. Wolferth Jr., M.D. Memorial Lecture at the 32nd Annual Point/Counterpoint Acute Care Surgery Conference, June 2 – 5 in National Harbor, Maryland.

Wolferth, a surgeon and medical trauma expert, spearheaded a state law that created the Pennsylvania Trauma System Foundation. He battled for decades to develop a foundation that would monitor the quality of care in hospital trauma centers. Wolferth was the chief architect of the Point/Counterpoint Acute Care Surgery Conference.

Meredith served as the Medical Director of Trauma Programs of the American College of Surgeons from 2006 through 2010 and chair of the Committee on Trauma from 2002 to 2006. He recently completed his tenure as a Director of the American Board of Surgery and American Board of Thoracic Surgery and is a past president of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma.

Wake Forest Baptist Professor Receives Distinguished Achievement Award

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – June 27, 2013 – Sara Quandt, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology and prevention at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, received the Lucia Russell Briggs Distinguished Achievement Award from her alma mater, Lawrence University. This award is presented for outstanding contributions and achievements in a career field.

As an applied medical anthropologist, Quandt works to correct health disparities experienced by rural and minority populations. Her research focuses on occupational health concerns of Latino immigrant farm workers and poultry processing workers, particularly pesticide exposure and occupational injuries and illnesses. She also investigates food and nutrition issues among older rural residents.
Quandt is the co-founder of the North Carolina Field Coalition, a nonprofit organization dedicated to increase awareness of the plight of the farmworker.

Wake Forest Baptist Pediatric Nurse Wins Patient Advocate Award

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – June 27, 2013 – Nancy Smith, R.N., Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, was the recipient of the 2013 Patient Advocate Health Care Professional Award given annually by Cancer Services.

In 2001, Cancer Services began recognizing individuals in the community who "do anything, anytime and in any way they can to make a positive difference in the lives of those living with cancer."
The award was presented during the 20th annual Survivor's Day "Celebration of Life" in May at Bolton Park.

Wake Forest Baptist Resident Receives Scholarship to Tackle International Health Care Challenges

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – June 27, 2013 – Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center resident Megan Rau, M.D., has been awarded the Dr. Charles A. Sanders/Project HOPE International Residency Scholarship.

The scholarship program was created to provide care for underserved communities worldwide. It is supported by an endowment established by Project HOPE through the North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation. Project HOPE is a global health education and humanitarian assistance organization working in 36 countries worldwide.

Sanders, Chairman Emeritus at Project HOPE and former CEO of Glaxo, dedicated his career to expanding the benefits of medical care to people and communities in need around the world.
Rau, who has public health experience in Guatemala, Jamaica and Rwanda, will work at the NRI General Hospital in Vijayawada, India. She will provide clinical services to patients, share her medical expertise with local health care practitioners, and work under the supervision of a faculty member of the NRI Academy of Sciences.

Wake Forest School of Medicine Graduates Commissioned as Military Officers

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – June 27, 2013 – Five members of the Wake Forest School of Medicine class of 2013 were commissioned as military officers in the Medical Corps of the United States Air Force (USAF) and United States Navy (USN).

All five attended the School of Medicine on the Health Professions Scholarship Program through the Defense Health Agency. The newly commissioned officers are: Capt. Steve Walton, M.D., USAF, Lt. Paul McClain, M.D., USN, Capt. Kayleen Elsbree, M.D., USN, Lt. Kevin Keys, M.D., USN and Capt. Matt Greene, M.D., USAF.

Media Relations

Shannon Putnam: news@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-4587

Mac Ingraham: mingraha@wakehealth.edu, 336-716-3487