Wake Forest Baptist Awards, Recognitions and Announcements July 2010

July 8, 2010

Wake Forest Baptist Urologist Named to Board

Gopal Badlani, M.D., professor of urology and the department's vice chair for clinical affairs has been named the 2010-2011 Secretary-Elect of the American Urological Association (AUA). Badlani previously served as president of the New York Section of the AUA and has served on numerous AUA committees. He is the former president of the Endourological Society and the Indian American Urological Association. In addition, he served on the boards of various organizations, including International Volunteers in Urology, the National Kidney Foundation and the Society of Female Urology & Urodynamics. He specializes in urinary incontinence in women and men as well as minimally invasive treatments for pelvic organ prolapse and prostate obstruction. His research focuses on the genetic aspects of pelvic organ prolapse.

Lischke Appointed to the Board of Directors of the N.C. Association of Free Clinics 

Michael Lischke, Ed.D, M.P.H., has been appointed to the North Carolina Association of Free Clinics’ (NCAFC) board of directors. Lischke is the director of Northwest AHEC, which is affiliated with Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center. Northwest AHEC is a center of the Wake Forest University School of Medicine whose mission is to support regional health care and provide advanced training to health care professionals and students in a 17-county region.

NCAFC is a private, nonprofit organization that assists free clinics in research, public relations, resource development, training and technical issues. NCAFC supports more than 70 free clinics and pharmacies that support at least 79 of the 100 counties in North Carolina. These clinics offer primary care services, chronic disease management, medication dispensing and management, and dental care as well as some additional specialty care.

Lischke is an associate professor of Family and Community Medicine, an adjunct faculty member for the Maya Angelou Research Center for Health Equity and an associate faculty member for the Women’s Health Center of Excellence, and he also serves as the executive director of the Office of Continuing Medical Education.

Wake Forest Baptist Resident Receives American Vascular Association Award

Lucas P. Neff, M.D., research resident for Wake Forest University Health Sciences, was awarded the American Vascular Association Resident Research Award for his research in vascular disease and tissue engineering. Neff, who presented his work at the 2010 Vascular Annual Meeting, will receive a monetary award and one-year subscription to the Journal of Vascular Surgery.

Wake Forest Baptist Researcher Receive Recognition Award

Debra Diz, Ph.D., interim director for the Hypertension and Vascular Research Center at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center, has been appointed to the External Historically Black Colleges and Universities Undergraduate Program (HBCU-Up) Advisory Committee at Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte. She has participated in an advisory meeting for the National Science Foundation sponsored program (HBCU-UP) and serves as the liaison with the Wake Forest University School of Medicine for summer research internships.


Brenda Latham-Sadler, M.D., assistant dean of Student Services at Wake Forest University’s School of Medicine, is presently serving as Immediate Past President on the executive committee for the Forsyth-Stokes-Davie County Medical Society and served as president last year. Latham-Sadler has also been appointed to the State Health Coordinating Council by N.C. Gov. Beverly Perdue as well as the National Board of Medical Examiners Medical Schools Advisory Committee. She also serves on the Association of American Medical Colleges Group on Student Affairs, representing the southern region.

Media Relations

Lisa Davanzo: news@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-4587

Mark Wright: news@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-4587