41 Wake Forest Baptist Nurses Receive Excellence Award

May 24, 2010

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – A total of 41 nurses were honored at the 20th Annual Nursing Excellence Awards Ceremony held recently at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center. 

Wake Forest Baptist nurses were nominated for this award by their peers or managers. The nominations were reviewed blindly by members of the Medical Center’s Professional Development Council. The award is based on how the nurse exemplifies the Medical Center’s key values: excellence, compassion, innovation, integrity and collegiality. Also considered in the selection is their educational preparation, national certification, Medical Center involvement and involvement in the community.

The following received the Nurses of Excellence award during the May 6 ceremony:

Cynthia Adams, Tamatha Adkins-Ford, Patricia Amankwah,  Jennifer Barney, LaToya Blair, Karla Brown, Amanda Cheek, Amanda Clark, Deejie Culbertson, Latonya Dobson, Robin Gibson, Lisa Gniewek, Amy Graham, Crystal Gray, Connie Greene, Renee Harrison, Elizabeth Hillebrand, Emily Jaynes, Denise Lawson, Gisellie Llauder, Cara Martin, Sarah McCargo, Ryanne McDaniel, Jennifer Montgomery, Mechelle Mumford, Ashley Nardone, Andrea Rosenberger, Diane Saint, Miranda Showalter, Mary Shull, Jamie Skaar, Heather Starbuck, Rebecca Stephens, Sheila Stevens, Kimberly Surratt, Christina Taylor, Sylvia Tomasewicz, Susan Turner, David White, Venice Williams, Martha Wyrick.

Other awards presented were: the Edna L. Heinzerling Award for Nursing Excellence toChristina Taylor, an ICU nurse; the Donna Lynn Eaton Memorial Scholarship to Chad Collins and Millie Price, nursing students at University of North Carolina at Greensboro; and the Gwendolyn J. Andrews Nursing Scholarship to Andreas N. Benton, a nurse assistant who works in an intermediate care unit at the medical center.

Media Relations

Bonnie Davis: bdavis@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-1597

Lisa Davanzo: news@wakehealth.edu, 336-713-4587