NASCAR Pit Crew Challenge Victory Brings $10,000 Donation to Childress Institute for Pediatric Trauma

May 20, 2009

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Richard Childress Racing’s winning team in last week’s NASCAR Pit Crew Challenge will donate $10,000 from its effort to the Childress Institute for Pediatric Trauma at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center.

The seven-member team from Childress’s No. 31 CAT Racing team, driven by Jeff Burton, won the annual NASCAR competition in a record time of 22.115 seconds in the event finals. The team collected $70,000 and fulfilled a pledge to donate a portion to the Childress Institute, which Richard and Judy Childress founded in 2008 for the prevention and treatment of life-threatening childhood injury.

The event, held this year at Charlotte’s Time Warner Cable Arena, pitted 24 of NASCAR’s top Sprint Cup Series teams against one another, in head-to-head competition. Each crew member performed his respective pit duty at four separate stations before pushing the cars 40 yards from one side of the arena to the other.

Kim Burton, wife of driver Jeff Burton and a member of the Childress Institute’s National Advisory Board, served as the driver for the event. The winning crew included pit crew coach Matt Clark, gas man Curt Bowman, catch-can man Andrew Solomon, front tire changer Daniel Blizzard, front tire carrier Jon Wallace, rear tire carrier Chris Martin, rear tire changer Terry Spalding and jackman Adam North.

The Childress Institute’s mission is to significantly improve survival rates of children nationwide who suffer serious injuries and reduce the lifelong impact of traumatic injuries in children. The Institute will focus on treatment, education, training, research and prevention of pediatric trauma.

For more information or to support the Institute, visit or call (866) 635-8190.

About Richard Childress Racing
Richard Childress Racing (, celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2009, has earned more than 180 victories and 12 NASCAR championships, including six in the Sprint Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. Its 2009 Sprint Cup Series lineup includes Casey Mears (No. 07 Jack Daniel’s), Kevin Harvick (No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil), Jeff Burton (No. 31 Caterpillar) and Clint Bowyer (No. 33 Cheerios/Hamburger Helper). Its 2009 Nationwide Series lineup includes Bowyer, Burton and Stephen Leicht (No. 29 Holiday Inn).



Media Relations

Eric Wittington:, 336-713-4587

David Hart:, 336-713-4587