Abramson Receives Prestigious Award from NC Pediatric Society

September 10, 2008

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Jon S. Abramson, M.D., chair of pediatrics at Brenner Children’s Hospital, has been awarded the Denny, Katz, Simon, Tinglestad Academic Service Award by the North Carolina Pediatric Society (NCPS).

This prestigious award is given by NCPS to a pediatrician for his/her outstanding achievements in improving the health and wellness of all children.

“Jon has worked nationally with groups to revolutionize ways of administering vaccinations to children,” said William B. Applegate, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P., interim president for Wake Forest University Health Sciences and dean of Wake Forest University School of Medicine. “His dedication and focus on this has literally changed thousands of children’s lives.”

Abramson has been with Brenner Children’s Hospital since 1981, and has been the Weston M. Kelsey Professor and chair of pediatrics since 1996. He has chaired several committees including: the Committee on Infectious Diseases for the AAP and Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices for the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). He was also the President of the Society for Pediatric Research.

# # #

Media Relations Contacts: Kristin Butler, kbutler@wfubmc.edu, 336-716-3464; Rae Bush rbush@wfubmc.edu or Bonnie Davis, bdavis@wfubmc.edu

Media Relations