McCall Named Chairman of Psychiatry At Wake Forest University School of Medicine

February 13, 2003

W. Vaughn McCall, M.D., M.S., has been appointed chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine of Wake Forest University School of Medicine.

The appointment was made by William B. Applegate, M.D., M.P.H., senior vice president of Wake Forest University Health Sciences and dean of the School of Medicine.

"The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, the School of Medicine, and Wake Forest University Health Sciences will be well served by Dr. McCall’s proven leadership, experience, and expertise," Applegate said.

McCall, a professor of psychiatry, has served as vice chairman and most recently as interim chairman of the department. Since 1998, he has been head of the Section on Geriatric Psychiatry. He also is director of the Sleep Center and director of electroconvulsive therapy services.

"I''m thrilled to be working with a group of dedicated and bright faculty who are committed to medical student and psychiatric resident education," said McCall. "I am grateful for the confidence of the dean in moving the department into the future."

McCall, a fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, held academic appointments at Duke University School of Medicine and the University of North Carolina School of Medicine before joining Wake Forest’s medical school faculty in 1991. He is board certified in both psychiatry and sleep medicine, and he holds a Certificate of Added Qualification in geriatric psychiatry.

A native of Winston-Salem, McCall is a magna cum laude graduate of Duke University. He received the M.D. degree from the Duke University School of Medicine and completed postgraduate training, including an internship and a residency in psychiatry and a fellowship in advanced electroconvulsive therapy, at Duke University Medical Center.

He later earned a master of science degree in epidemiology at Wake Forest University.

McCall was vice president of the Association for Convulsive Therapy in 2002 and was appointed to the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine in 2001.

He has been principal investigator on a National Institute of Mental Health grant, “Optimization of Electroconvulsive Therapy,” since 2001, as well as principal or co-investigator on numerous other grants and industry contracts.


Contact: Robert Conn (, Karen Richardson ( or Barbara Hahn ( at (336) 716-4587

Media Relations