Applegate Announces Appointment of Four Deans

May 9, 2002

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Four key administrative appointments were announced this week by William B. Applegate, M.D., M.P.H., dean of Wake Forest University School of Medicine and senior vice president of Wake Forest University Health Sciences. They will join three existing associate deans.

James E. Smith, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, will become associate dean for research. Smith will retain his post as department chair and also will continue his research in the Center for the Neurobiological Investigation of Drug Abuse.

Cam E. Enarson, M.D., M.B.A., associate dean for medical education, will become senior associate dean, a new position. Enarson is also associate professor of anesthesiology and associate professor of public health sciences (social sciences and health policy). Applegate said Enarson would run day-to-day operations for the dean''s office, and have responsibilities for academic space and oversight of finances through the dean''s office. He will also substitute in the dean''s absence at several key committees.

K. Patrick Ober, M.D., professor and vice-chair for education of the Department of Internal Medicine and section head of endocrinology/metabolism, will become associate dean for education. He will retain his other posts.

Sally A. Shumaker, Ph.D., professor of public health sciences (social sciences and health policy) and professor of internal medicine, will become associate dean for faculty. Shumaker is also director of the Women''s Health Center of Excellence and director of the Office of Intercampus and Community Program Development. She will retain her intercampus post, and continue her research in aging and women’s health. Shumaker will step aside as director of the center of excellence. Continuing in their present posts will be Patricia L. Adams, M.D., associate dean for student affairs, Lewis H. Nelson III, M.D., associate dean for student services and admissions, and Patricia H. Petrozza, M.D., associate dean for graduate medical education.

"This is an incredibly dynamic group of senior, experienced academicians who all have outstanding careers," said Applegate. "This group will lead our school through a period of major strategic re-evaluation of our academic mission in all its components," he added. "I believe this group will build the foundation for this school''s academic mission for years to come."

Smith is a graduate of California State University at Northridge and completed his Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota at Minneapolis. He did a postdoctoral fellowship at Indiana University School of Medicine. He succeeds Jay Moskowitz, Ph.D., who now is at Pennsylvania State University.

Enarson is a graduate of Concordia College, got his M.D. degree at the University of Alberta Faculty of Medicine, and his M.B.A. at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. He did residencies at the Wilmington Medical Center and the University of Maryland, and fellowships at Pennsylvania State University School of Medicine and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He is board certified in anesthesiology.

Ober is a graduate of Michigan State University, got his M.D. degree at the University of Florida College of Medicine, completed his residency at N.C. Baptist Hospitals and a fellowship at Bowman Gray School of Medicine. He is board certified in internal medicine and endocrinology and metabolism.

Shumaker is a graduate of Wayne State University and earned her Ph.D. at the University of Michigan. She did postdoctoral fellowships at the University of California at Irvine and the University Of California at Los Angeles.


Contact: Robert Conn, Jim Steele or Mark Wright at (336) 716-4587

Media Relations